Design Thinkers 2013 RGD Event

Standard

This week I wanted to talk about the Design Thinkers 2013 RGD conference. This past november I had the opportunity of attending and I think it was an experience every designer should take advantage of. The conference took place in Toronto and featured speakers all from various areas of design. It is known as Canada’s largest graphic design event and I think all student designers should attend at least once. Not only is it great to hear from all the speakers but it’s an opportunity to interact with all the different vendors, professionals, and other students at the event.

For the 2013 conference they had over 1,500 participants and around 25-30 speakers for the two day event. I only attended the second day but even with that I got to hear a lot of interesting perspectives on design. Out of the many speakers that we listened to some of my favorite and most memorable ones were; Karin Fong, Morag Myerscough, Ricardo Crespo, and Michael Gough. For a full list of the speakers you can visit the Design Thinkers page on it here. In between the speakers we got to go around and interact with other students, teachers, and the vendors. It was really interesting to hear different things from the vendors, about what their company does and to know that they’re there for when we work in the field. Being a student we don’t really talk about those things yet, but it’s nice to see all the different options that are out there. One of my favorite things was all the different booths on paper and the variety out there, I find it fascinating to see all different things we can work with.

I think the most important thing I learned; isn’t something thats focused, but a generalized conception, that looks into all the aspects of design. When we start pursuing design in school, we weren’t aware of all the different things that design can branch off into. I loved hearing from all the different speakers, what they do and I found it great to see all the different areas we could pursue. One of the most memorable things I took from the event, was hearing from Karin Fong of Imaginary Forces. She showed examples of her work with title design, which was something I never really even thought of before. One thing that I will never forget is when she showed us the live action trailer that she worked on for, God of War: Ascension. She went through the process of how they designed the trailer and the different things they had to consider. We always see commercials and advertisements for things like this on the television. We never really put much thought to how they were created, or the depth behind the concept of the various components. I thought it was great perspective of possible opportunities that graphic design has to offer. I never conecptualized the many possibilities of the various jobs and how much depth they have to their work.

Overall, I thought the Design Thinkers event was indefinitely worthwhile and I can’t wait for next years, so that I can attend the entire two day event. I recommend to anyone that is interested in graphic design, should attend the event next year or look at other events that RGD host.

Jess.

My lanyard from the event  Ricardo Crespo starting off day two.

Leave a Reply

