Designer Interview

Standard

For our post this week we were to contact and interview a designer whose work we respect. The information received from doing so was very intriguing and opens up a new perspective that we as students don’t get to experience yet. I chose to talk to a local illustrator named Christian Wolf who designs comics and does caricatures. I chose to talk to someone who works locally to see what their experiences are like working while living here in Kingston.

The process of contacting and talking to a designer was new to me. Being a student I haven’t done much networking in the design world as of yet. It is intimidating at first to go out and contact others but it’s a great learning experience for us to put ourselves out there and expand our horizons.

The most important thing I took from the interview was really staying true to where you are most passionate in design. From a young age, Christian was highly influenced by comic books and Mad Magazine. This area of design captivated him and that’s what he stuck too while developing his skills for the past 20 years. I think when you learn new things in design it’s important to take all of that in and explore it, but I also think it’s important to really be passionate about the field that you choose in design.

Another helpful discovery I made was that when you’re in a creative rut, the best way to get out of it is to take a break. You need to clear your head and come back to it, go online and look at new things in design to keep your ideas flowing. Another big thing is to push yourself with things that motivate you like music. I find it easy to relate to Christian because we both have heavy influences from music and when I’m in a creative rut, I turn to music to help me think creatively.

The best advice I gathered from the interview was that you really have to put yourself out there in the design world, and be versatile. Don’t wait until after you are done to start doing things in design, start designing for people and making a name for yourself as soon as you can. Make sure you know your skills and your best strengths and if you work from that you can start to build a customer base. The internet is full of helpful things for designers and you can improve on the things you aren’t good at from watching tutorials online. The more skills you have, the more diverse your portfolio will be which will help you significantly in your design career.

Overall this interview process was a great experience for me. It’s really great to talk to other designers and get new ideas and hear their experiences. I think the advice and information I learned from talking to Christian is helpful to anyone in the design field, especially to students like myself. I will definitely keep these things in mind for my future career as a designer.

Jess.

Some of Christian’s Work:

Desert TrekWolf GuardDancing Angels

Christian’s Blog

Christian’s Deviant Art Page

Leave a Reply

